Introducing Beth Nazemi…

We are so happy to welcome Beth Nazemi into our Villa di Maria community!  Beth seamlessly joined Ms. Steinman in P3 this year, and it is as if she’s always been here.  Here’s a peek into Beth’s life outside of VdM!

Describe your educational background.

I have an Associate’s degree in Human Services (working with children).  I then promptly ran off to Europe and moved to Corsica where I was an organic farmer in the mountains with no electricity, phone, or running water (at first) for almost 11 years.  I built a campground with a small pavilion restaurant and did this for a few years, but alas I was called back to the States to be with my Father who was diagnosed with cancer.  I moved back home to Kirkwood just 4 blocks from Villa where I grew up.  My son wanted to stay with his American family, so after my Dad passed, I went back to school and received a Bachelor’s degree in French Literature from UMSL with a K-12 teaching certificate.  I taught French at Kirkwood and Webster Groves high school for 2 years.

How/when did you become interested in Montessori education?

I got married and moved to Chesterfield, Mo and had my second son.  When he was three, I started looking for a school, and found one just down the street.  Fell in love with the school and Montessori education.  After a year and half, I had an opportunity to teach French there part-time which then morphed into full-time shortly after. I worked there for almost 15 years. I went from teaching French in the afternoon to substituting in the mornings, almost 8 years as a primary assistant and finally toddler assistant this past year, while still teaching French to the elementary and Adolescent students in the afternoon.   My son graduated from there in 8th grade went on to SLUH and is now a freshman at Loyola University of Chicago.  He received an amazing education and is a wonderful human being, which I accredit to this wonderful education.

Beth with her son Manual

What has been the BEST part of your Montessori training/experience so far?

I think the best experiences is watching the primary students grow and move into elementary and witness the amazing changes.  Some of these children struggled in their early years, but eventually they discovered their potential, and this gives me comfort, faith and knowledge that this education can transform our children into confident young people who embrace the world of learning.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your time at VdM?

Being with my grandson, who will be one this month.

If you were to plan a most perfect, relaxing weekend day, what would it entail?

It would be a day in the mountains in a log cabin completely isolated from the world.

What is something you look forward to this coming school year?

I look forward to working with Heather and being back in the primary classroom.

Europe 2008

Favorites:

Color: Purple

Season:  Fall

Book: Lord of the Rings

Holiday: Christmas

Movie: Willow

Hobby: Cooking

Type of music:  Soft Rock

Song: “Here I am Lord”

Restaurant in St. Louis:  Ya Ya’s

Vacation:  France/Europe

Sport: Horseback riding

Game: French Tarot

Fruit: Apple

Vegetable: All except okra

If you had to choose ONE:

Rain or Snow:  Rain

Coffee or Tea:   Tea

Morning or Night:  Morning

Ocean or Lake:    Lake

Dog or Cat:      Cat

Talk or Listen:  Both

Walk or Run:    Walk

Save or Spend:  Spend

Bike or Swim:    Bike

Salt or Pepper:    Salt

Realistic Fiction or Fantasy:   Fantasy

Summer or Winter:           Summer in the mountains

New York or California:      California

Cook or Dine Out:             Cook

Europe 2008