Introducing Hannah Hull…

The team at Villa di Maria is delighted to announce the addition of Hannah Hull! Hannah’s work at VdM is multi-faceted, often requiring flexibility and quick transitions. She has stepped into all of her roles with grace and ease. Welcome, Hannah – it’s great to have you!

Hannah in Williamsburg, VA

Describe your educational background.

I’ve never wanted to do anything else than to work with children.  My kindergarten teacher asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, and I clearly remember saying “a teacher.”  I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education and have worked with children ever since.  I spent 8 years working at a preschool in my hometown and then came to St. Louis in 2003.  I worked at another Montessori school in the area and then came here in December.

How/when did you become interested in Montessori education?

I came into Montessori quite by accident!  When I moved to St. Louis I knew I wanted to work in a school but couldn’t find any that were hiring.  I happened to find an advertisement for an Extended Care teacher at a local Montessori school and decided to try it out.  Best decision ever as I fell in love!  Even on the tour during my interview I was fascinated by the prepared environment and I absolutely adored all of the materials that were child-sized.  After I was hired, I saw how much the kids loved learning and how they learned at their own pace and in their own style.  When this happened, there was no going back to the traditional classroom!

What has been the BEST part of your Montessori experience so far?

I love seeing children treated as equals rather than being spoken down to.  It’s also very rewarding to see a child master a task that they have previously struggled with.  That light in their eyes is priceless!

With her sisters and niece in Disney’s Animal Kingdom

What do you enjoy doing outside of your time at VdM?

I love spending time with loved ones, reading nonfiction (mainly history), knitting, crocheting, and binge watching my latest Netflix obsession of the week!

If you were to plan a most perfect, relaxing weekend day, what would it entail?

Sleeping in, enjoying a beautiful sunny day with family and friends, going out for a nice dinner, knitting, reading, and playing cards.  Okay that’s too much to fit into a weekend!

Hannah with her family (her mom, sisters, niece, and brother-in-law!) in Chicago!

What is something you look forward to at VdM?

I really look forward to getting to know the kids and their families and becoming a part of the Villa community.

Your Favorite:

Color: Orange

Season: Spring

Book:  The original Boxcar Children (I read it over and over again as a child) As an adult:  Too many history books to name!

Holiday:  Fourth of July (because it’s warm!)

Movie:  Sound of Music and Mary Poppins (I’m a huge Julie Andrews fan!)

Hobbies:  Reading, knitting, crocheting, planning my next vacation!

Type of Music:  Pop, musicals (big fan of Hamilton right now)

Song:  Too many to name

Restaurant: Nudo

Vacation:  Anywhere warm and with a beach

Sport:  To Watch: Basketball  To Play: Volleyball

Game:  Hearts

Fruit: Raspberries

Vegetable: Carrots (cooked or raw)

Rain or Snow:  I guess rain because it’s warmer (I really love my sunshine)

Coffee or Tea:  Hot chocolate

Morning or Night:  Night, I am NOT a morning person!

Ocean or Lake:  Ocean all the way!

Dog or Cat:  Really big dogs!

Talk or Listen:  Usually talk, but I can be a good listener, too.

Walk or Run:  WALK.  If I’m running it’s because someone is chasing me, so you better run too!

Save or Spend:  I will save if I have to, but I love to spend!

Bike or Swim: Bike for exercise, swim for fun.

Salt or Pepper: Pepper

Fiction or Fantasy:  Nonfiction

Summer or Winter:  I am definitely a summer girl!

New York or California:  California (combines two of my loves: warm weather and ocean)

Cook or Dine Out: Dine out (local places!)

Relaxing in the Outer Banks